top of page
  • MRSU1C1DESQD

Barbie

More than Kenough

Barbie threw me out of the park with how good it was. Since it was so hyped up by social media trends, I was expecting it to have an underwhelming delivery. But Greta Gerwig dropped the mic and walked out of the theater.


I walked out of Barbie questioning my own reality. This seemingly kids movie has an array of messages not limited to but including Gender Roles, Mental Health, Body Positivity, Death, Patriarchies and Matriarchies. It perpetuates these existential ideas and ultimately stabs a much needed hole in our system.


This movie had an outstanding exposition and a grand intro bringing you up to speed on the context of the film. The comedy was consistent and landed very well. The plot was perfectly intertwined to the development of the characters and was not dragged out. Great pacing all around. The comedy is outstanding and almost every joke landed for me.


This felt similar to The Super Mario Bros. Movie in the sense of incorporating some very nostalgic Easter eggs.


Overall, I am proud to say “I survived Barbenheimer 2023” and I will be getting a T-shirt and/or poster to commemorate this cinematic experience of the decade.



10 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page