top of page
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • MRSU1C1DESQD

Blue Beetle

The DC 25%

1 out of every 4 DC projects are good, and we have reached the one. Blue Beetle (2023) is one of DC’s best project of late, reaching levels like The Batman (2022) and The Suicide Squad (2021). I may be biased because I’ve watched the lead actor, Xolo Maridueña, grow in Cobra Kai for the past couple of years. But as a stand alone film, Blue Beetle was executed very well.


I’ve stated it before, that to me, one of the greatest writing feats is making well established character connections in a short period of time. This film showed that splendidly. The direction and writing came together to create characters that we love and can feel the energy with.


Almost every character in this film had some immense depth to them. They were well set up and portrayed very well, given their proper time to shine. Seeing all the character’s bond together was a fulfilling cinematic experience. George Lopez’s character, Rudy Reyes, was a great source for comedy and showed as an expression for the writer.


There was foreshadowing and set ups placed brilliantly throughout the film to where everything that was done was properly introduced. Fulfilling one of my philosophies of storytelling.


Fight sequences were done very creatively, and greatly matched the characters nature. This is also the most creative display of “you and I aren’t so different” I’ve seen since the original.


The VFX were beautiful most times, with very few exceptions where there was some noticeable abnormalities. While on the topic of design, I was not a fan of the HUD (heads-up display) design.


Overall, I anticipated this movie very much but also expected it to be a very cookie cutter origin story and to be unbearably mediocre. But Blue Beetle (2023) exceeded my expectations, in its writing, directing, dialogue, action, etc. IMO: DC has now set the bar for their new universe, and I hope they keep up this level of work.



2 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page