top of page
  • MRSU1C1DESQD

Ghostlight

Romeo & Juliet Remastered

by: Connor N. F. Field

Ghostlight Poster

Ghostlight presents itself as a very complex plot from a different perspective from a very simple story. Remember Romeo and Juliet? Yeah, the one you were forced to read in grade school. Or better yet, it's modern counterpart, Gnomeo & Juliet (2011). Ghostlight take that story and creates this sculpture slowly and slowly until you're looking at the finished piece of a mirror reflecting this story back at itself, but you're not looking at it through your own eyes, but watching yourself look at it (Thats be best way to sum up how I felt throughout this film).


The first act unfolded rather uncomfortably, and lures the viewer into this false sense of distain, just for it to be flipped on its head later on. One thing I did notice early on, was the near unnatural amount of foul language used which might be my only complaint about the entire film. Throughout watching this film, I had questioned if some of the narrative choices were the best way to approach the situations, but by the final act, I had come to realize that they were much better than I would have done. 


It's not often I find myself tearing up, but this one ripped my soul out. The entire ensemble of the cast did so well and made it feel so real. I can't wait to see them in more roles going down the line. 


If you ask people around me that I have watched quite a few films with, they can confirm that I don't often have a hard time knowing what's about to happen next. Ghostlight was quite an exception. You were slowly spoon-fed crucial information and only as much as the writers wanted you to know so you could not piece together what they wanted you until the time had come, and for that I applaud. Kelly O'Sullivan knew what she was doing with this one and I have nothing but the utmost respect.

5 Squadies

21 views1 comment

1 comentário


Convidado:
26 de jun.

10/10 review. I would like to say Gnomeo and Juliet ran so this movie could walk.- shalina

Curtir
bottom of page