top of page
  • MRSU1C1DESQD

Spy Kids: Armageddon

Spy Kids: Game Over Continued

All this movie is, is a modern rendition of Spy Kids 3: Game Over (2003). In fact, I wouldn’t be surprised if Robert Rodriguez just changed the names on the script. I am heavily disappointed by the lack of Elijah Woods!


The CGI is keystone Robert Rodriguez, which is sad because it’s been 12+ years since the last Spy Kids movie. However, some of the CGI was creative, SOME. While the CGI is 2000’s reminiscent, it was better than some of the recent VFX we’ve seen in a few modern blockbuster movies, which again, is also sad.


The writing was not great, it was probably comparable to a no-cost short film. So many lines of dialogue were overly predictable or just cheesy, but if that was the purpose, I salute you, Mr. Rodriguez, job well done.


The marketing for this film was non-existent, and I am very hesitant to believe the “Number One on Netflix” attribute that the film was given. Many people must not be on Netflix anymore... Anyway, I had no idea about this movie until a week before it released, and I only knew because my roommate sent me the trailer because I haven’t stopped singing Dream, Dream, Dream from The Adventures of Sharkboy and Lavagirl (2005) in a month.


Zachary Levi went from Chuck to Tangled to Shazam! to Shazam! 2: Fury of the Gods to Sky Kids 5: Armageddon. WHAT HAPPENED?


Overall, Robert Rodriguez and his son need to go back to the writers room and think of something a bit more original, or just sign Elijah Woods and all will be right with the world. The only good thing that came out of this movie was Bronson.


1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page