top of page
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • MRSU1C1DESQD

The Beanie Bubble

If you Give a Sociopath a Company


The Beanie Bubble (2023) reminded me very much of the children’s book series If you Give a Mouse a Cookie. Only, replace Mouse for a sociopath and a cookie for an entire multimillion dollar company.


This book turned biopic was a marvel of non-linear storytelling. Showing some pretty impressive and dramatic jumps between timelines. They had it formatted in the beginning to clearly distinguish the difference but after the timelines were formally established, stopped the format. This detail threw me off at first, but later I realized it was for the sake of the audience not to be thrown back and forth and treated like a child.


I’m not sure the accuracy of the film to reality, as with all Historical Fiction and Biopics, but they really painted Ty Warner as a full blown childish sociopath with some major personality complexes. The story resolution were quite satisfying. The story was worked quite well.

The prosthetics were noticeably good, mainly because I really couldn’t tell it was Zach Galifianakis until I looked it up. Speaking of Galifianakis, he had a stellar performance as Ty Warner. This is one of, if not the first, dramatic role I’ve seen him play in, and he brought his A-game. Elizabeth Banks also brought a great performance to the film.


I could understand how one would get lost really quickly if they weren’t paying attention. I think they could’ve shown a little more of the resolution in the end, and Ty Warner’s downfall to complete the story, but the direction they chose was still pretty good. The cinematography was pretty good for the first 30 seconds, there wasn’t much notable after that.


Overall, The Beanie Bubble (2023) is a fun, fast-paced comedy drama that shows an interesting side of corporate character. There is some great storytelling done through. An interesting Bart I’ve technique for this genre and I think it does it pretty well.



0 views0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page