top of page
  • MRSU1C1DESQD

The Wonderful Story of Henry Sugar

Wes Anderson is competing with Wes Anderson to out Wes-Anderson Wes Anderson.

Undoubtedly, Wes Anderson’s storytelling is getting more creative and intricate, and that is a very impressive feat. However, it feels like Wes Anderson is trying to stick it to himself by 1 Up-ing himself on his subsequent projects.


Wes Anderson has never failed me visually and The Wonderful Story of Henry Sugar (2023) is no exception. Set design This short was definition storybook. The storybook style made me feel like I was actually productive, as if I actually did read a book and obtained new knowledge.

The acting was quite impressive, especially from this limited but exceptional cast. There was not even a hiccup in this short. Every second was utilized perfectly.


Wes Anderson’s projects usually require your, or at least my, undivided attention to comprehend and get the full experience. This makes the idea of his short films slightly more appealing than his feature lengths. Part of me feels like Wes Anderson did both a feature length film as well as a short film this year to maximize the amount of categories he can be nominated for.


I genuinely loved The Wonderful Story of Henry Sugar (2023) from the narration style, to the set design, to the creativity of the storytelling.


Overall, I wonder how creative Wes Anderson can get, and if he’ll go so far that he loses his own charm. I would like to see more of these shorts going into the future.


0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page